Hamilton Academical logo

End of Season Squad Summary

With the season formally concluded in the unexpected circumstances we all found ourselves in, and now starting to look to a new season in the Premiership in August, we can confirm the various end of season squad changes as players’ contracts expired etc across May and June.

The players that we had out on loan at other clubs have all had their registrations revert back to us – Jack Breen (at Albion Rovers), Ross Connelly (at Benburb), Ross Cunningham (at Clyde), Ronan Hughes (at Stirling Albion), Niyah Joseph (at Annan Athletic), Ciaran McAndrew (at Benburb), Daryl Meikle (at Linlithgow Rose), Kyle Munro (at Clydebank), George Stanger (at Forfar Athletic), Owain Fon Williams (at Dunfermline Athletic), Liam Scullion (at East Kilbride LL) and Sean Slaven (at Linlithgow Rose). We thank all the clubs that they were with for assisting in these players’ development.

Of these players – Jack Breen, Ross Connelly, Niyah Joseph, Ciaran McAndrew and Liam Scullion have since left the club.

The three players who were on loan with us – Andy Dales (back to Scunthorpe Utd), Luke Southwood (back to Reading) and Sam Woods (back to Crystal Palace) have returned to their parent clubs.

Blair Alston, Jay Blair, Steve Davies, Alex Gogic, Johnny Hunt, Aaron McGowan, Mickel Miller, George Oakley and Charlie Reilly have all also departed us on the expiry of their contracts.

We thank all of the above players very much for their time with us, some have been here since they were 9 or 10 years old and come through the youth academy, while others had only come to us this season. In every case though these players have created an impression here, amongst fellow players, staff, officials and supporters, and there are doubtless many good memories. They all go with our very best wishes.

With 17 departures, who had almost 350 Accies appearances between them, we still have 29 players as we look ahead to a seventh successive season in the top flight, further extending our post war (WW2) record:-

Will Collar, Ross Cunningham, Brian Easton, Markus Fjortoft, Ryan Fulton, Jack Garrad, Kyle Gourlay, Jamie Hamilton, Liam Harris, Ronan Hughes, Ciaran McKenna, Scott McMann, Scott Martin, Daryl Meikle, Reegan Mimnaugh, David Moyo, Kyle Munro, Marios Ogkmpoe, Fergus Owens, Lennon Pirrie, Marley Redfern, Sean Slaven, Jamie Smith, Lewis Smith, George Stanger, David Templeton, Shaun Want, Owain Fon Williams and Andy Winter

The new season ahead still promises much uncertainty, however we do hope the global and national health positions become much better and clearer, and as we have more information as we near the start date for a new season we will advise.

Please stay safe, follow all the guidelines, and we hope to see everyone in due course.

19th June 2020


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

tickets to all upcoming matches

Don’t miss your chance to see Hamilton Accies in action! Get your tickets now!

Join The Elite Youth Academy

Unleash your football potential and chase your dreams with Hamilton Accies Elite Youth Academy.